Padma Shri Award for Virat Kohli and singer Anuradha Paudwal – Photos


Virat Kohli and Anuradha Paudwal honored with the Padma Shri for their contribution in the fields of cricket and music respectively

Indian cricketer Virat Kohli received the fourth highest civilian award, the Padma Shri from the hands of President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi on March 31, 2017. Virat Kohli and singer Anuradha Paudwal, were among the 39 people who were honored with the Padma Shri awards 2017.

Padma Shri
Virat Kohli receives his Padma Shri Award from President Pranab Mukherjee on March 31, 2017

The cricketer has shown some great form on the cricket field and has also helped the team towards success. Virat has also contributed towards taking the Indian cricket team to the number one position in test matches after taking over from captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The 28 year old cricketer also won the Player of the Tournament at the Twenty -Twenty Championship where the Indian team managed to reach the semi-finals.

Virat, even on an individual basis, was positioned in the top three batsmen in all the three formats. The cricketer expressed his happiness in a message through Instagram and wrote, “What an absolute honour and a memorable day to receive the Padma Shri award from the president of India. These days last for a lifetime. Gods been kind. Jai hind”.

Padma Shri
Anuradha Paudwal receives the Padma Shri Award from President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony held on March 31, 2017

On the other hand, singer Anuradha Paudwal, who is known for singing devotional songs, said that the Padma Shri is like a Prasad for the years of hard work she has put in. The 64 year old singer has also crooned Bollywood songs in many of the noteworthy movies like Aashiqui, Ram Lakhan, Saajan, Dil and others. Anuradha expressed, “I am very grateful. It is a wonderful honour to get from the Government of India. I have been singing devotional songs to Mata Rani for so long and I feel the honour is the prasad for all my hard work. I am extremely happy. It is a beautiful honour”. This year the government received 18,000 nominations out of which 4,000 were submitted online.

Other Padma Shri Awards 2017 winners include –

Former Lok Sabha General Secretary T K Vishwanathan

Endocrinologist Dr. M M Godbole

French historian Michel Danino

Former professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Anant Agarwal

VP of Kanyakumari’s Vivekananda Rock Memorial, Nivedita Raghunath Bhide

Folk singer Basanti Bisht

Entrepreneur Mohan Reddy Venkat Rama Bodanapu

Madhubani artist Baoa Devi

Folk artist of Halakki tribe in Karnataka, Sukri Bommu Gouda

Bike ambulance dada of Jalpaiguri district, West Bengal, Karimul Hak

Writer Narendra Kohli

Para-athlete Deepa Malik

Theatre artist Wareppa Naba

Kathakali exponent Chemancheri Kunhairaman Nair

Malayalam poet Akkitham Achyuthan Nambudiri

Tribal artist from Kharkhan, Mukund Nayak

Environmentalist Balbir Singh Seechewal

Gynaecologist Dr. Bhakti Yadav

Padma Vibhushan Award 2017 winners

Late Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma

Former Chairman of ISRO Prof. Udipi Ramachandra Rao

Politician Sharad Pawar

Murli Manohar Joshi 

Padma Bhushan Award 2017 winners

Yoga guru Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati

Thai princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn

Father of laparoscopic surgery in India, Tehemton Erach Udwadia

Photo Credits: Viral Bhayani