Winners of 65th National Film Awards announced

Sridevi wins best Actress Award while A R Rahman emerges as the biggest winner

Sridevi Rahman

The winners list of the 65th National Film Awards have been announced on April 13, 2018. The Bollywood flick Newton has emerged as the Best Hindi Film while A R Rahman has emerged as the biggest winner at the National wards. Late actress Sridevi, has been conferred with the best Actress Award for her latest film Mom while the Best Actor Award has been conferred to Riddhi Sen for her performance in Nagarkirtan.

Bollywood filmmaker Shekhar Kapur was the head of the jury of film awards that recognises the talent across cinema in all languages. Academy award winner A R Rahman has won the National Award for Best Music direction or the film Kaatru Veliyidai and for scoring the background music for the film Mom. The latest progress has made Rahman the only composer to win six National Awards.

A special mention has been made about Pankaj Tripathi at the 65th National Film Awards for his performance in the film Newton. Late actor Vinod Khanna, who passed away recently was conferred with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his contribution to the Indian cinema. South film Baahubali: The Conclusion won the Best Special Effects and Best Direction apart from Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment.

Here is the complete list of winners of the 65th National Film Awards.

Best Regional Films Special Mention:

Marathi – Mhorkya
Malayalam – Take Off
Best Regional Films:

Hindi – Newton
Ladakh – Walking With The Wind
Lakshadweep – Sinjar
Tulu – Paddayi
Marathi – Kachcha Limboo
Malayalam – Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Kannada – Hebbettu Ramakka

Best Actress: Sridevi for ‘Mom’
Best Actor: Riddhi Sen for ‘Nagar Kirtan’

Best Action Direction: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’
Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya for ‘Gori Tu Latth Maar’ from the film ‘Toilet Ek Prem Katha’

Best Director: Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’
Best Film: Village Rockstars (Assamese)

Best Special Effects: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’
Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)
Best Lyrics: Muthurathinam

Best Costume: Gobinda Mandal for ‘Nagar Kirtan’
Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan ‘Take Off’

Best Music Direction: AR Rahman for ‘Katru Veliyidayi’
Best Make-up Artist: Ram Rajak for ‘Nagar Kirtan’

Best Editing: Rima Das for ‘Village Rockstar’
Best Sound Design: ‘Walking With The Wind’

Best Screenplay Original: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum
Best Screenplay Adapted: Bhayanakam

Best Audiography (Location Sound): Mallika Das, Village Rockstar
Best Location Sound Recording: Mallika Das for ‘Village Rockstar’

Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam
Best Female Playback Singer: Sashaa Tirupati for ‘Kaatru Veliyidayi’
Best Male Playback Singer: K.J Yesudas for the song ‘Poy Maranja Kalam’ from ‘Viswasapoorvam Mansoor’

Best Film on Environmental Conservation: ‘Irada’
Best Direction: Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’

Best Child Artist: Anita Das for ‘Village Rockstar’
Best Children’s Film: ‘Mhorkya’Best Feature Film on National Integration: Dhappa (Marathi)
Best Debut Film of a Director: ‘Sinjar’
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’

Photo Credits: Instagram