Vidya Balan named as best actress for ‘The Dirty Picture’


After the success of the movie, ‘The Dirty Picture’, actress Vidya Balan has been adjudged as the best actress at the Eighteenth National Media Network Film and TV Awards. The awards have been instituted by Akhil Bhartiya Swatantra Patrakar Avom Lekhak Sangh, which is an association of freelance journalists and writers and also the National Media Network.

Film maker Ekta Kapoor will also be honored for being a successful film and TV producer in Indian film and TV industry. The film maker managed to release the movie despite several controversies surrounding it. The awards will be given away on January 21, 2011.

Moreover, even Ajay Devgan has been named as the best actor for the popular movie ‘Singham’ directed by Rohit Shetty. Even film maker Farhan Akhtar will be conferred with the best director award for the recently released movie ‘Don 2- The King Is Back’.

TP Agarwal, the chairman of Film Federation of India, film maker Ramesh Sippy and veteran lyricist Gulzar will be given with the lifetime achievement awards. Bollywood actor Anil Kapoor will be given the all time hit award. The channel NDTV has been named as the best Hindi news channel and the Asian Academy of Film and TV has been named as the best institute for film and TV.